New songs added to heavy & medium rotation! (2022, part 9)

September 30, 2022 | By

WXCI 2022 New Music

A playlist of what songs get added to heavy & medium rotation is available on Spotify here: WXCI New Music Monthly
* updated at the end of every month, so save your faves! *

This is our NINTH monthly post of 2022 to show what new songs we are digging and adding to heavy & medium rotation. Enjoy!

Week of 9/6/2022

Gorillaz: “New Gold (feat. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown) (Clean)” (Parlophone)
Arctic Monkeys: “There’d Better Be A Mirrorball” (Domino)
Similar Kind: “Leonard St (clean)” (Factory Underground)
Two Door Cinema Club: “Lucky” (Glassnote)
Hot Chip: “Eleanor” (Domino)
The Shatterheads: “A Friend With A Car (Radio Edit)” (Fierce Panda)
The Happy Fits: Long Way Down” (AWAL)
The Front Bottoms: “The Bongo Song (Clean)” (Fueled By Ramen)
Khruangbin & Vieux Farka Touré: “Tongo Barra (Radio Edit)” (Dead Oceans)
flipturn: “Playground” (Dualtone)

Cheekface: “You Always Want to Bomb the Middle East” (Self-Released)
Dan Friel: “Conveyor” (Thrill Jockey)
Secret Machines: “Day 21” (TSM)
Marci: “Entertainment” (Arbutus)
Ezra Furman: “Point Me Toward the Real (Clean)” (Anti-)
Bret McKenzie: “If You Wanna Go” (Sub Pop)
Whitney: “MEMORY (Radio Edit)” (Secretly Canadian)
Kiwi Jr.: “Night Vision” (Sub Pop)
Lera Lynn: “Black River” (Ruby Range/Ingrooves)
Turnover: “Ain’t Love Heavy (feat. Bre Morell)” (Run For Cover)
Perera Elsewhere: “Who I Am” (Friends of Friends)
Julia Jacklin: “I Was Neon” (Polyvinyl)
The Medium: “No Tomorrow” (Still The Best/YK)
SOHN: “I Won’t” (4AD)
Ghost Orchard: “Bruise” (Winspear)
Pinkshift: “GET OUT” (Hopeless)
MILLY: “Marcy” (Dangerbird)
Julia Bhatt: “Cotton Candy” (Self-released)
Sylvan Esso: “Didn’t Care” (Loma Vista/Concord)
Charlie Burg: “97 Avalon” (Fader)

Week of 9/13/2022

Similar Kind: “Game Show” (Factory Underground)
Teagan La’Shay: “All and Everything” (Self-Released)
Catbite: “Everybody Talks [Neon Trees cover]” (Bad Time)
The Front Bottoms: “The Supply of Power” (Fueled By Ramen)
The Happy Fits: “Dance Alone” (AWAL)
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard: “Ice V” (KGLW)
FUR: “Creature” (777 MUSIC)
The Backseat Lovers: “Growing/Dying (Edit)” (Capitol)
Blitzen Trapper (Various Artists for charting purposes): “Perusing Janet’s Record Collection (feat. Janet Weiss)” (Self-Released/PDX Pop Now!)
Cheekface: “Noodles” (Self-Released)

Dan Friel: “Rust Clouds” (Thrill Jockey)
The Human Fund: “C.F.M.” (Self-Released)
Osees: “A Burden Snared” (Castle Face)
Ezra Furman: “Temple Of Broken Dreams” (Anti-)
The Afghan Whigs: “Take Me There” (Royal Cream/BMG)
The Garden: “Horseshit on Route 66 (Radio Edit)” (Self-Released)
Sylvan Esso: “Sunburn” (Loma Vista/Concord)
Preoccupations: “Ricochet (Radio Edit)” (Self-Released)
Apacalda: “SSR” (Self-Released)
Couvo: “Don’t Say Goodbye” (Self-Released)
Swingin’ Utters: “Politician (2022 Remaster)” (SideOneDummy)
Dentist: “Check the Calendar” (Cleopatra)
Ottis Cœur: “Labrador” (Ottis Cœur / Modulor)
Snarls: “After You (Samantha’s Song)” (Take This to Heart)
Vundabar: “Shadow Boxing” (Gawk)
Petite League: “Bloody Knuckles” (Zap World)
Lazy Queen: “243, New Moon” (Icons Creating Evil Art)
Les Shirley: “Nothing Compares” (Self-Released)
Fazerdaze: “Break!” (section1)
Aurelio Voltaire: “Oubliette (Single Version)” (Mars Needs Music)
Night Gallery: “Another 80’s” (Independent)
Alex Lahey: “Congratulations [clean]” (Liberation)
RL: “Be True” (LAUREN)
Santigold: “My Horror” (Little Jerk)
Trentemøller: “Into the Silence [feat. DíSA]” (In My Room)
Built to Spill: “Rocksteady” (Sub Pop)
Jobber: “Entrance Theme” (Exploding in Sound)
Lou Reed: “Kill Your Sons (Demo)” (RCA)
Social Media & Shocking Twist: “half smile” (Mint 400)
Bonobo: “ATK” (OUTLIER/Ninja Tune)

Week of 9/20/2022

Kiwi Jr.: “The Extra Sees The Film” (Sub Pop)
Starcrawler: “Broken Angels” (Big Machine)
Danger Mouse & Black Thought: “The Darkest Part (feat. Raekwon & Kid Sister) (Clean)” (BMG)
Sampa the Great: “Tilibobo (Clean)” (Loma Vista)
Cults: “Sleeping Through Sunshine” (Sinderlyn)
Pixies: “Dregs of the Wine” (BMG)
Lou Reed: “Too Late – May 1965 Demo (feat. John Cale)” (Light in the Attic)
Chemical Club: “Hurt Happens” (Arts & Crafts)
Iron & Wine: “That’s How You Know” (Black Cricket)
The High Curbs: “I’d Run Away with You” (HAPPY DAPS)

The Midnight: “Heartbeat” (Counter)
Sylvan Esso: “Alarm” (Loma Vista/Concord)
Preoccupations: “Slowly” (Self-Released)
Mitski: “Should’ve Been Me” (Dead Oceans)
Bass Drum of Death: “Say Your Prayers (Clean)” (Fat Possum)
Gogol Bordello: “Knack For Life” (Cooking Vinyl)
The Beths: “Knees Deep” (Carpark)
Fake Palms: “Visions” (Hand Drawn Dracula)
Altered Images: “Mascara Streakz” (Cooking Vinyl)
SAMWOY: “Sbwriel” (Hidden Ship)
Secret Machines: “Matrons” (TSM)
Babe Rainbow: “Inner Space” (Eureka/Kobalt)
Dropkick Murphys: “All You Fonies” (Dummy Luck/PIAS)
Cheekface: “Election Day (feat. Sidney Gish)” (Self-Released)
Ezra Furman: “Throne” (Anti-)
Ylayali: “Nobody Knows” (Dear Life)
Pabst: “Week Full of Weekends” (Ketchup Tracks)
Gallus: “Are You Finished” (Marshall Amplification Plc)
Vundabar: “Alien Blues (Acoustic)” (Gawk)
The Murlocs: “Bellarine Ballerina” (ATO)
The Paranoyds: “Nissan Overdrive” (Third Man)
Death from Above 1979: “Don’t Stop Believin’ [Journey cover]” (Universal Music Canada)
Heaven For Real: “Energy Bar” (Mint)
Supreme Beings of Leisure: “Contender (Radio Edit)” (Leisurephonic)

Week of 9/27/2022

Starcrawler: “Midnight” (Big Machine)
Death Cab for Cutie: “Pepper” (Atlantic)
The Paranoyds: “6th Street Bridge” (Third Man)
Alex G: “Blessing” (Domino)
The Mommyheads: “Genius Killer” (Self-Released)
OSees: “Fucking Kill Me (Clean)” (Castle Face)
The Beths: “Change In The Weather” (Car Park)
Built to Spill: “Elements” (Sub Pop)
The Medium: “No Highway Cowboys” (Still The Best/YK)
BODEGA: “Statuette on the Console (Audiotree Live Version)” (Audiotree Music)

LIFE: “Big Moon Lake” (The Liquid Label)
Dehd: “Stars (Radio Edit)” (Fat Possum)
Magdalena Bay: “Chaeri” (Luminelle)
The Murlocs: “Living Under a Rock” (ATO)
Floating Points: “Problems (Radio Edit)” (Ninja Tune)
The Black Angels: “Empires Falling” (Partisan)
Two Door Cinema Club: “Everybody’s Cool” (Glassnote)
Drew Beskin & the Sunshine: “Spoilers” (Super Canoe/We Bought A Zoo)
Kiwi Jr.: “Contract Killers” (Sub Pop)
Sylvan Esso: “Your Reality” (Loma Vista/Concord)
Vieux Farka Touré et Khruangbin: “Tamalla” (Dead Oceans)
Courtney Barnett & Sleater-Kinney: “Words and Music” (Self-Released)
Frozen Inertia: “Dogs in Space” (Self-Released)
Outtacontroller: “Hit and Run” (Self-Released)
Cheekface: “We Need a Bigger Dumpster” (Self-Released)
Jessie Baylin: “Time Is A Healer” (Blonde Rat)
Lou Reed: “Buzz Buzz Buzz – May 1965 Demo (feat. John Cale)” (Light in the Attic)
Mr. Sam And The People People: “People People People People!” (People People Music)
Nilüfer Yanya: “Rid of Me [PJ Harvey Cover]” (ATO)
Big D and the Kids Table: “Shining On (15 Year Anniversary)” (SideOneDummy)
RL: “Reality” (LAUREN)
Jacklen Ro: “Someday [The Strokes cover; clean]” (Lolipop)
Gloom Girl MFG.: “Boujie Girl” (Grey Matter)


Tags: ,

Category: New Music, Rotation Adds