New songs added to heavy & medium rotation! (2023, part 8)

August 31, 2023 | By

WXCI 2023 New Music

A playlist of what songs get added to heavy & medium rotation is available on Spotify here: WXCI New Music Monthly
* updated at the end of every month, so save your faves! *

This is our EIGHTH monthly post of 2023 to show what new songs we are digging and adding to heavy & medium rotation. Enjoy!

Week of 8/1/23

Puma Blue: “Dream Of You” (Blue Flowers Music/PIAS)
Sarah Kinsley: “Oh No Darling!” (Verve Forecast)
Mitski: “Bug Like An Angel” (Dead Oceans)
Palehound: “Route 22” (Polyvinyl)
Alice Phoebe Lou: “Angel” (Self-Released)
FIONN: “Take Me Out (Clean)” (604)
Sir Chloe: “Obsession” (Atlantic)
Ghost of Vroom: “Yesterday in California” (Mod y Vi)
TV Girl: “Grapes Upon the Vine” (Blissful Serenity Industries, LLC)
Velvet Vaughn: “Glass House” (Shag City Records)

MAN ON MAN: “I Feel Good (Clean)” (Polyvinyl)
Abby Johnson:“Wonder Why” (Earth Libraries)
Do Nothing: “Sunshine State” (Exact Truth/The Orchard)
Nation Of Language: “Too Much, Enough (Radio Edit)” (PIAS)
New Friends: “Ricochet”(Slaight)
THALA: “Easy Out (Clean)” (Fire)
AMAARA: “Bright Lights” (Lady Moon)
KEELEY: “The Glitter and the Glue” (Dimple Discs)
Locate S,1: “Have You Got It Yet?” (Captured Tracks)
PWNT: “From Me to You” (Acrophase)
Pelican: “Aurora Borealis (Remixed & Remastered)” (Thrill Jockey)
Upper Wilds: “Radio To Forever” (Thrill Jockey)
THE MANATEES – ‘BETTER WAY TO THINK OF IT (Edit)” (Fierce Panda Records)
The Wans: “Fire” (self-released)
Bells Larsen: “Just Knowing You” (NEXT DOOR RECORDS)
The Records: “Starry Eyes [re-release]” (UMG)
Slow Pulp: “Doubt” (Anti-)
Warmduscher: “Love Strong (Audiotree Live version)” (Self-Released / Audiotree Music)
Blur: “Barbaric” (Parlophone)

Week of 8/8/23

Ratboys: “Crossed that Line (CLEAN)” (Topshelf)
Alice Phoebe Lou: “Lose My Head” (Self-Released)
Bells Larsen: “Ten Hands” (NEXT DOOR RECORDS)
M.A.G.S.: “Destroyer” (Smartpunk)
FIONN: “Goldfish (Clean)” (604)
PWNT: “Summer Rain” (Acrophase)
Worriers: “Top 5 (Single)” (Ernest Jenning)
Sarah Coolidge: “Call Me When You Get There” (Self-Released)
TV Girl: “Higher Ground” (Blissful Serenity Industries, LLC)
Sea Lemon: “Vaporized [Single]” (Luminelle Recordings)

Wilco: “Evicted” (dBpm)
Queens of the Stone Age: “Negative Space” (Matador)
Mother Tongues: “Worm Day” (Wavy Haze Records)
Guided By Voices: “Cruisers’ Cross” (GBVinc)
Maribou State: “Blackoak (Radio Edit)” (Ninja Tune)
Mutoid Man “Broken Glass Ceiling (CLEAN)” (Sargent House)
Mikaela Davis: “Promise” (Kill Rock Stars)
Miss Tiny: “River Hands” (Speedy Wunderground/PIAS)
KATE DAVIS: “Long Long Long (acoustic) [SINGLE]” (Anti-)
Teenage Wrist: “Still Love (feat. Softcult) (CLEAN)”
Kitba: “Peel Away the Rind” (Ruination Recording Co.)
The Last Dinner Party: “Sinner (Single) (Universal)
Holy Wave “Bog Song” (Suicide Squeeze)
Pelican: “Sirius (Remixed & Remastered)” (Thrill Jockey)
Upper Wilds: “Voyager” (Thrill Jockey)
Hannah Cole: “Big Bite” (self-released)
The Whiffs: “Satellites” (DIG!)
The Wind-Ups: “Jonathan Says” (Blue Arrow)
Ponytails: “Learning to Be Alone” (Self-Released)
GROUPLOVE: “Billie” (Glassnote Music LLC)

Week of 8/15/23

M.A.G.S.: “Elephant” (Smartpunk)
Langkamer: “Hatchet” (Breakfast)
Olivia Rodrigo: “bad idea right? (Clean)” (Geffen Records)
Jordi: “nightlife” (Dangerbird)
tofusmell: “Younger” (Hardly Art)
Mustard Service: “The Dominoes (CLEAN)” (ONErpm)
Jenny Besetzt: “Death in Three Colors” (Self Aware)
GROUPLOVE: “Cheese” (Glassnote Music LLC)
Hannah Cole: “Melt” [self-released]
Bells Larsen: “Suitcases By The Door” (Next Door)

Oscar Lang: “One Foot First” (Dirty Hit)
Current Joys: “CIGARETTES (Radio Edit)” (Secretly Canadian)
The Front Bottoms: “Batman” (Fueled By Ramen)”
Courtney Barnett: “Different Now (Chastity Belt cover)” (Suicide Squeeze)
Bad Cop/Bad Cop: “Shattered” (Fat Wreck)
Computerwife: “Lexapro” (Danger Collective)
Social Cinema – “Stay Numb (Radio Edit)” (Midtopia)
Hannah Blackburn: “Elvis Presley” (Self-Released)
The Hives: “Trapdoor Solution” (Disques Hives)
Vera Ellen: “Fake Milk” (Flying Nun)
Velvet Vaughn: “It’s Easy” (Shag City Records)
AMAARA: “Photographs” (Lady Moon)
Shamir: “The Beginning” (Kill Rock Stars)
Less Than Jake: “Come Dancing (feat. Sooza Brass Band) [The Kinks cover]” (Pure Noise)
Teenage Fanclub: “Back to the Light” (Merge)
that dog.: “Ms. Wrong [re-release]” (UMG)

Week of 8/22/23

Osees: “Submerged Building” (In The Red)
Margaret Glaspy: “Female Brain” (ATO)
Worry Club: “Bored” (Self-Released)
The Front Bottoms: “Brick” (Fueled By Ramen)
Sleepy Gonzales: “Destrøyer” (Light Organ)
Orla Gartland:”Kiss Ur Face Forever [Single]” (New Friends)
Hozier: “First Time” (Rubyworks/Columbia)
Hana Eid: “Weird” (Self-Released)
Diners: “Painted Pictures” (Bar/None)
Green Day: “When I Come Around (4-Track Demo)” (Reprise)

Kevin Drew: “Party Oven” (Arts & Craft)
Movements: “Killing Time” (Fearless)
Ani DiFranco: “Little Plastic Castle (tUnE-yArDs Remix)” (Righteous Babes)
FRAGILE: “Selfless” (Twenty Something)
High Vis: “The Loss” (Self-Released)
LUMER: “Nightmare Without End” (Self-Released)
Oldsoul: “Education on Earth” (Counter Intuitive)
NOBRO: “Let’s Do Drugs (Clean Edit)” (Dine Alone)
PAWS: “Disenchanted” (Ernest Jenning Record Co.)
Bennett Coast: “Bender (Clean Edit)” (Pizzaslime Records/Mad Decent)
The Armed:“FKA World” (Sargent House)
CHERRY GLAZERR: “Ready For You” [SINGLE] (Secretly Canadian)
Hannah Georgas: “Home” (Real Kind/Arts & Crafts)
Drew Beskin & the Sunshine: “Nosedive” (Super Canoe)
Sonny Falls: “Night Scene” (Earth Libraries)
Fiddlehead: “Fiddleheads” (Run For Cover)
Joh Chase: “Risking It With You” (Kill Rock Stars)
Death Valley Girls: “I Am a Wave” (Suicide Squeeze)
Langkamer: “Vanity Fair” (Breakfast)
FIONN: “Runaway” (604)
Jaywood “Sweet” (Self Released)
Michael Seyer: “angel” (Self-Released)

Week of 8/29/23

Sea Lemon: “Cellar” (Luminelle Recordings)
Ratboys: “Empty (CLEAN)” (Topshelf)
sophie meiers: “i was the right one” (Epitaph)
Osees: “Intercepted Message (Clean Edit)” (In The Red)
Margaret Glaspy: “Irish Goodbye” (ATO)
Be Your Own Pet: “Never Again” (Third Man)
Miso Extra: “R10” (MSG)
Runo Plum: “red lights” (self-released)
The Armed: “Sport of Form (feat. Julien Baker)” (Sargent House)
Crooks & Nannies: “Weather (Clean Edit)” (Grand Jury)

CLT DRP:“I See My Body Through You” (Venn)
La Force: “October (Radio Edit)” (Secret City)
Under The Puddle: “Ready to Ride” (Self-Released)
Babe Rainbow: “Juice of the Sun [Single]’’(Eureka Records)
Justin And The Cosmics: “Dirtbike” (Cosmic Thug / Love Police)
Odd Army: “Eye for an Eye” [self-released]
The Church: “Realm of Minor Angels” (Communicating Vessels)
Flamingods: “Tall Glass” (Amplify)
Vera Ellen: “Imposter” (Flying Nun)
Green Day: “Basket Case (4-track demo)” (Reprise)
Public Body: “Crisp Wars” (FatCat)
Pacifica: “Change Your Mind” (TAG Music)
Vaguess: “Cease to Grieve” (Self-Released)
Fascinations Grand Chorus: “She’s Just My Style [Gary Lewis & the Playboys cover]” (Silent Stereo)
Summer Arachnid: “Missed Connection” (3 Friends)
Judah & the Lion: “Only Want the Best” (Cletus the Van)
PRONOUN: “Slap Me in the Face” (Sleep Well)
Flat Worms: “Time Warp in Exile [clean]” (Drag City Inc.)
Asking Alexandria: “Psycho (Clean Edit)” (Better Noise)
Pelican: “* (Remixed & Remastered)” (Thrill Jockey)
Upper Wilds: “Books About UFOs [Hüsker Dü cover]” (Thrill Jockey)
The Front Bottoms: “Clear Path” (Fueled By Ramen)


Tags: , ,

Category: New Music, Rotation Adds